The Testimony of Jesus

In the Book of Revelation, the men redeemed by Jesus form a new priestly company that transcends all national, social, and cultural boundaries, and they persevere in the “Testimony of Jesus” before the world through every affliction and persecution. This is how they follow the “Lamb wherever he goes.”

What sets the Assembly of Jesus apart from the rest of mankind is that it consists of men from every “nation,” “people,” “tribe,” and “tongue” who have been redeemed by the death of Jesus, saints who now summon the rest of humanity to join this company of the Redeemed. His “Kingdom of Priests” mediates the light of the Gospel throughout the Earth.

Lighthouse at night - Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash
[Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash]

Jesus is the “
Faithful Witness, the Firstborn of the Dead, and the Ruler of the Kings of the Earth.” His past death is the basis of his present reign. By his Death and Resurrection, he freed his saints from sin and made them a priestly kingdom. The mission of being a light to the nations assigned formerly to Israel has fallen to those who follow the “Lamb” - (Exodus 19:4-6, Revelation 1:4-6, 5:10, 14:1-4).

The addressees of the Book are identified as the “servants” of God, namely, the “Seven Assemblies of Asia.” They are “fellow participants” with John in the “Tribulation and Kingdom and Perseverance in Jesus.” John was exiled to Patmos because of the “Testimony of Jesus” - (Revelation 1:8-9).

In Chapter 5, John saw a glorious figure seated on the “Throne” holding the Scroll sealed with Seven Seals. After a search of all creation, only the sacrificial “Lamb” could be found who was declared “worthy” to open the Scroll because “he was slain and redeemed for God by his blood men out of every tribe, tongue, people, and nation, and made them a KINGDOM and PRIESTS to our God” - (Revelation 5:9-10).

In Chapter 7, the same category applied to the “Seven Assemblies of Asia” is applied to the Innumerable Multitude of men redeemed from every nation that John saw exiting the “Great Tribulation,” namely, his “Kingdom of Priests.” Everyone purchased “from the Earth” by his blood becomes a member of this group and is summoned to persevere in the “Testimony of Jesus” no matter what – (Revelation 7:9-17).


When the Fifth Seal was opened, John saw the “martyrs” who had been slain for the “Word of God, and for their Testimony.” Like the animals sacrificed in the ancient Tabernacle, their lives were poured out at the base of the Altar because of their faithful testimony for Jesus. Likewise, the “Two Witnesses” were slain by the “Beast from the Abyss” because of their “Testimony” – (Revelation 6:9-11, 11:4-7).

In Chapter 12, Satan was expelled from heaven. Enraged, he gathered his forces to “wage war against the Seed of the Woman, those who have the Testimony of Jesus,” but the “brethren” overcame him by the “Word of their Testimony, and because they loved not their lives unto death.” They were willing to suffer death for the sake of their “Testimony” - (Revelation 12:9-17).

In Chapter 13, the “Beast that ascended from the Sea” waged war on the “saints” and killed them. This portrays the same reality as the war by the “Dragon” against those who had the “Testimony of Jesus.” Because they were determined to persevere in his testimony, they paid the ultimate price - (Revelation 12:17, 13:1-10).

Humanity falls into two groups:  Those who have been redeemed by the “Lamb,” and the “Inhabitants of the Earth” who take the “mark of the Beast.” Rather than the “Testimony of Jesus,” they stand in awe of the “Beast” – “Who is like Beast, and who can make war with it?” - (Revelation 13:15-18, 14:1-5).

In contrast, faithful saints “overcome” the “Dragon” by persevering through whatever he inflicts on them while maintaining the “Testimony of Jesus” before the nations. This was and remains the “endurance of the saints.”

Sun Norway - Photo by Jonas Allert on Unsplash
[Photo by Jonas Allert on Unsplash]

Because of their faithfulness “
unto death,” the “witnesses of Jesus” are found by John standing before the “Lamb” and the “Throne” while worshipping in “New Jerusalem,” having “come out of the Great Tribulation.” For believers, martyrdom means victory, not defeat – (Revelation 7:15-17, 14:12).

From start to finish, the Book focuses on the Church that has been redeemed by the sacrificial death of Jesus, and on its priestly mission to humanity. What sets them apart is their “redemption by the blood of the Lamb,” and because they have been tasked with persevering in the “Testimony of Jesus” before all the nations of the Earth.

  • Priestly Kingdom - (Disciples reign with Jesus as priests who render service in his Tabernacle and mediate his light and Word in the World)
  • Martyrs and Overcomers - (Jesus is the Faithful Witness who summons his disciples to emulate his example by giving faithful testimony before a hostile world)
  • Martyrs under the Altar - (The Fifth Seal opening reveals the souls of martyrs kept underneath the altar as they plead with God for vindication and justice – Revelation 6:9-11)


Destruction of Babylon

The Little Horn